Learning to Abide

“For it is God who works in you to will and to act according to His good purpose.”

Philippians 2:13 NIV

When you let it all go and have unwavering faith in God, your own will intertwines with God’s will. Your natural choices are along the line of God’s will and in turn, following God’s will is as natural as breathing because God is the source of your own will. This is the simplest concept of abiding in Christ.

Your heart continually pumps blood just as breath is continually exchanged in your lungs without your command or any inclination from your will.  We may not always be aware of the Holy Spirit keeping us in perfect unity with God, but it is like that beating heart that keeps us alive.

So how do you keep the Spirit alert within you?

1 Thessalonians 5:17 reads,

“Never stop praying.” NLT

“Pray continually.” NIV

“Pray without ceasing.” KJV

A prayer that I pray every morning goes a little something like this, “God, today I die to myself and live completely for you. Use me to fulfill your will. Lead me, and I will go.”

Living for God’s purpose is to take responsibility as your part of the body of Christ. To abide is to live completely in accordance with the Spirit.  By doing this, I have a new consciousness of being guided by God.  It is so comforting to know that God’s promise to live in me is being carried out.

Psalm 25: 4-5, 7, 12, 14-15, 20-21 NIV

4Show me your ways, O Lord, teach me your paths; 5guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God, my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long. 7Remember not the sins of my youth and my rebellious ways; mark me with your sign of love, plan only the best for me, God! 12Who, then, is the man that fears the Lord? God will instruct the man in the way chosen for him. 14The Lord confides in those who fear Him; He makes His covenant known to them. My eyes are ever on the Lord, for only He will release my feet from the snare. 20Guard my life and rescue me; let me not be put to shame, for  I take refuge in you. 21May integrity and uprightness protect me, because my hope is in you.”

We are ordained by God to seek Him (i.e. chosen) and His personal instructions to each and every one of us will guide us to “meet the mark”- or to aim for the perfect standard set forth by Jesus.  That is the beauty of life- that God chose us and works deliberately in our hearts to pursue perfection, yet it is only with His help that we can even attempt to meet it.

The ultimate action in which we will see/feel/be in God’s perfect love is going to be in the end- in the extraordinary glorification process.  It is great and actually encouraged to be patiently anxious about the return of Jesus, but do not forget about the here and now.  We are serving a living God that is working continuously in our lives and we need to be aware of that.  We can do this by living in the Spirit and heeding the cautions or pushes that we feel from it.  We must grow to share a consciousness with God so that we may be able to abide with His perfect will.  We need to do this because, yes, it is all for the glory of God, and sometimes great glory comes from the impossibly small things He places upon our hearts to carry out- things we may view as pointless in the grand scheme of things- but they are actually very large, indeed, and are a necessary element of our journey in sanctification.

Leave a Reply

