Like A Bird

I’m going to say something crazy…

I think that God has called me to be a bird.

Things we know that birds do:

  • Hatch
  • Perch
  • Sing
  • Fly
  • Nest
  • Migrate

Hatch

God has brought me out of a season of incubation. After training camp I have seen how seemingly random things were actually interconnected. God has written a beautiful story that I am proud to read.

Perch

Birds take time to be still as they observe their surroundings. They are resting in a safe place so that they can prepare to use their potential energy that they’ve conserved. It could be argued that they are making a game plan for what their next series of events may be. I think that I am in this stage. I am perched in my safe home, getting to be with family and friends, regrouping from camp and tactfully preparing for Launch in January. It is an intense calm, but I can feel the excitement brewing. It makes me want to…

Sing

I will sing to the LORD all my life; I will sing praise to my God as long as I live.

Psalm 104:33

Fly

I want to stretch my wings.

I want to soar over the world.

I want to see what God has to show me with my bird’s eye view.

I want to dive headfirst into the ministry opportunities that await me.

Nest

It is the nature of the World Race for someone to not stay in one place for an extended period of time. Did you know that most nests are only used for 3 weeks at a time? Sounds quite similar to how long I’ll be staying in each country before moving on to the next.

Migrate

I consider my squad to be a group of people with whom I will be migrating with for eleven months. Something noteworthy about migrating is that the cycle typically starts and ends at home. Even though I am choosing to leave my home to travel around the world, God willing, I will return home.

I’ve been caged for so long and now that the door to my cage has been opened all and I want is to taste that sweet release.

From laurarogers.theworldrace.org

I am ready to get be a bird and fly.

but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength;

they shall mount up with wings like eagles;

they shall run and not be weary;

they shall walk and not faint.

Isaiah 40:31

Leave a Reply

