A Simple Picture with a Complex Message

IMG_0604.JPG

 

The notion struck the evening before as I crossed the York River on the Coleman Bridge. As I approached the pinnacle of the bridge I found myself at a loss of words and nearly my breath. The moon hung in the sky begging for my attention. I was unable to take a picture at that time since I was driving, but I decided I would wait for the next night to capture that brilliant moon.

It was a placid night with temperatures flirting with the idea of dipping into the 40s. I awaited the rise of the waning moon over the horizon. The nearby marina’s dock seemed to be the most suitable location for me to wait. I sat at the end of the dock and faced the direction of where I thought the moon was sure to rise and softly played music on my phone as I waited. And waited. And waited some more. At last I decided that the moon wasn’t going to rise for me that night so I leaned against the wall of the boathouse in defeat. With the music still quietly playing and my line of vision shifted slightly to right of where I had been focused, I finally saw it. At first the moon peaked at me from behind the trees on the not so distant shore, but soon it burst forth to fully show off it’s luminous glow.

I had almost given up and was on the verge of leaving my post, but at the brink of my defeat was when the inevitable appeared. The moon is constant. It rises to give off the light reflected by the sun, then sets. It does this every single day. It doesn’t ever take a day off. Even when it has completely waned or when we can only see it’s partial form, it’s still there. That’s just what the moon is and that’s what it does.

 

Isn’t God the same?

 

I had almost given up and was on the verge of leaving my post, but at the brink of my defeat was when the inevitable appeared. God is constant. God does this every single day. God doesn’t ever take a day off. Even when we can only see God’s partial form, God’s still there. That’s just what God is and that’s what God does.

 

It was my folly to look in the wrong direction, which is reflective of what human beings consistently do in our lives. We try to do life according to our plan but our attention is affixed in the wrong direction. Even when we’re off by just a smidge; it’s a smidge of imperfection that needs to be reconciled. Jesus does that for us. He comes into our lives and cleans us up, leaving us with the Holy Spirit to guide us in the right direction. This seemingly simple picture reminds me of how easy it is to settle for having my attention off of God. Though my focus may be near the right direction, if I fail to have my eyes completely fixed on God I will miss the beauty and pleasure that he has for me.

 

One thought on “A Simple Picture with a Complex Message

Leave a Reply

