What Do You Do When God Answers Your Prayers And It Breaks Your Heart?

When it comes to God answering prayers in my life I’ve learned one thing: it’s never delivered in the same way twice. God is so good and faithful! I could give you a book full (technically 6 journals full) of ways God has intervened in my life, but today I want to focus on my prayer life that concerns the most popular topic of my life: relationships (or lack thereof).

All the time I hear it at weddings, holiday gatherings, seeing old friends, at the grocery store…

“Where’s your boyfriend?”

“You’re next!”

“Who are you dating these days?”

“Can’t you get a date to a wedding?”

“You’re the last (single) one!”

Being single has its advantages. It frees up a lot of my time to surrender my dating life to God. I have had many “date nights” with God praying for my future husband as well as men that have entered my life. The best part is that even though I remain single, God has been moving through my prayers!

I got hit pretty hard recently with an answer to prayer. Man, it really hurt. It has made me realize some things. I had feelings for someone but those feelings are not reciprocated. No worries! That’s nothing out the norm. But I heard this nagging voice in the back of my mind point out something that stung… “Over the past 3 years you’ve had feelings for 6 men… Where are they now? One is married, one is engaged, and four are in serious relationships. What about you, Laura?”

My initial reaction is to collapse onto my couch and weep. It hurt. It hurt so much because it’s true. But my tears were not tears of anguish. They were tears of relief. I sat there with tears streaming down my face and praised God.

You see, for each of these 6 men, I had prayed my heart out for them. However, I didn’t ask God to give them to me to date. I asked God to lead them to their future wives. I asked God to protect their hearts from the enemy, as well as from me, so that their love would be pure for their wife. I asked God to pursue their hearts and pull them into a closer relationship with Him.

This weekend I was reaffirmed about praying by an incredible sermon entitled “Practical Powerful Prayer.” I was reminded that prayer is not about getting what we ask for, but it is to be brought into a closer, intimate relationship with the One who is King of our hearts. It makes my heart full to the brim to see how God has worked in his life and the lives of these 5 other men who have grown closer to God as they’ve found godly women to date.

I simply cannot be upset about people finding love. I can neither be upset about how God answers my prayers for them. My prayer for you is to have your eyes opened to see how God moves in all situations. He is faithful to the prayers of those who call him Lord.

 

“Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it. If you love me, you will keep my commandments.”

John 14:13-15

“Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

I want to encourage you to live out the command to always praise and continually pray because God answers prayers. More importantly, I want you to pray so that you may know the freedom in completely surrendering everything to God and his plan for your life.

 

Screenshot 2015-12-02 21.53.30.png

One thought on “What Do You Do When God Answers Your Prayers And It Breaks Your Heart?

  1. I can relate to this entry, Laura, because my mind has been consumed with thoughts of relationships too. This entry reminds me that women (like men) endure heartaches when pursuing a man who is uninterested in them. My experiences led me to believe I was the sole person who faced rejection and heartache when a woman captivated my attention. Thank you for sharing this entry and hope to see more entries.
    Adrian

Leave a Reply

