Oops, I Did It Again! (Major Fail)

Can I be completely honest with you? I don’t mind failing. Truly, I don’t. I appreciate learning things no matter what form or packaging the lesson comes in. Here’s the most recent lesson about God’s merciful love:

For a few years I had been convicted to try out as a harmonizing vocalist for the worship team at my church. Singing in front of people is entirely out of my comfort zone. Over the years, I had friends comment about my voice being beautiful and encouraged me to try out for the worship team. I KNOW, I KNOW- it freaks me out too, but I did it! About two weeks ago I had an audition and…

giphy

REJECTED!

No worries ya’ll! It was just a window that God closed so that a new, better door could be opened. I am fortunate to be a member of a church that focuses on discipleship and continual growth in cultivating one’s talents to bless others. I am glad to fail at singing because it has created an opportunity for my natural gifting to be used.

The opportunity has been extended to me to co-teach a spiritual formation class at Coastal this winter. I am beyond excited to be stretched by this new challenge! Man, it feels good to be encouraged to pursue areas in which God has gifted me so that more glory is given to God.

In what areas are you convicted to travel outside of your comfort zone? I encourage you (yeah, YOU!) to at least try. What’s the worst that could happen? Being rejected isn’t the worst thing to happen because you get to refocus and find the next thing to work toward. God uniquely gifted you to be a blessing others. Are you keeping those gifts all to your self or are you obediently using them to further the Kingdom?

 

“God’s plan for us is usually where our passions, our purpose, and our abilities intersect.”

-Bob Goff

One thought on “Oops, I Did It Again! (Major Fail)

  1. Thanks Laura,
    God loves a cheerful giver and directs our steps towards us giving with a passionate and cheerful heart:))

Leave a Reply

